Does Your Marriage Pass the Test?

I came across an interesting article in the NY Times today about marriages; specifically marriages where one spouse is applying for a green card. The article discusses how these marriages are viewed by the government, and what sort of “proof” you need to provide to show that your marriage is valid.

One way to prove your marriage is true is to pass a marriage “test” of sorts. The article provided a list of sample questions a couple might be asked in the interview. Intrigued, I checked it out to see if I knew the answers regarding my marriage. Surprisingly, it was harder than I thought, prompting me to question whether or not our marriage would actually pass the test (since there would obviously be more questions than the ones posed here). I sent the test to the hubby; I’ll post an update once he answers.

Take a look at the questions and let me know in the comments section if you would pass or not. Feel free to add your opinion as to whether or not these questions are too invasive, too difficult, etc.

FYI, here are my answers to the sample questions:

Your Wedding

• On the day of your wedding, where did you wake up? What about your spouse?
I woke up at my Mother’s house. My husband woke up at the apartment we were renting at the time.

• Where was your wedding?
In our hometown at my church.

• How did you get to the wedding? What about your spouse?
I was taken to the church in the limo with my bridesmaids. I’m actually not quite sure how the hubby got there…don’t know if he went to his parents’ house first or if he went right to the church. Either way, one of the groomsmen drove him.

• Who was present at your wedding?
Family and friends. I’d estimate about 119 people at the reception, a few more at the ceremony.

• What did you do after the wedding? Where did you go?
We took formal portraits at the church then took more pictures at the reception site. We went to the reception site after the church; from the reception I went to my Mom’s to change and the hubby went to his parents. Then my Mom took us to the hotel.

Home and Money

• How many floors are in the house/apartment building where you live?
3, if you count the basement as a floor.

• How much is your current rent/mortgage payment?
I know the exact number since I pay this bill every month, but don’t think the hubby wants to share what we’re paying 😉

• How many televisions do you have in your house/apartment?
Two. But only one is currently hooked up and working.

• If you are standing at and facing your kitchen sink, where is the microwave oven?
Behind me, to my left. It’s on the end of the counter.

• Is your microwave stationary or does it have a revolving plate?
Revolving plate.

• Are you paid weekly, every two weeks, twice a month or monthly? What about your spouse?
I’m paid every two weeks. Hubby is paid monthly.

• How much money did you receive in your last paycheck/deposit? What about your spouse?
To be honest, I can only give a rough idea here – I’m an hourly employee, so my paycheck fluctuates each pay period depending on my hours. As for the hubby; I can hazard a guess, but I’m not certain.

How You Met

• Where did you and your spouse first meet? When was it?
Technically, we met in the baby pool at a local swim club. I was 5, so he would have been 6.

• Who first spoke to whom?
Don’t know if we were really talking to each other then. We knew of each other through mutual friends in middle school, but re-acquainted ourselves in high school. He talked to me first, he was welcoming me to the meeting (we met through an extracurricular club in high school).

• Why were you there? What about your spouse?
I had just joined Hi-Q and it was the introductory meeting over the summer to find out the materials for the next school year and to figure out how it all worked. My hubby was the captain of the team, so he was assisting the advisor in leading the meeting.

• Was your spouse with any other people there? Who?
The Hi-Q team from that year. Ummmm, me, him, Helen, Chris, Anthony, Damien…that’s all I can remember now.

• When did you move in together?
June of 2006.

• Do you have any tattoos? Where? What do they look like? What about your spouse?
No. And neither does the hubby.

Into the Bedroom

• If you are lying in bed, which side does your spouse sleep on?
He sleeps on the left side.

• Do you have carpet in your bedroom? What color is it?
Yes. It’s beige. Or light tan, however you want to look at it.

• How is your bedroom closet split up?
We have his and hers closets in the master bedroom.

• Where do you keep your clean underwear? What about your spouse?
In the top drawer of my dresser. His is in his dresser, second drawer from the top.

• What color is your toothbrush? What about your spouse’s?
White and gray. Hubby’s is the same, but his has a blue stripe too.

• Do you and your spouse use birth control? What kind?
No.

• What was the last movie you went out to see together?
I honestly can’t remember. I don’t know the last time we went out to the movies.

Family, Friends and More

• How many brothers/sisters does your spouse have? What are their names?
One sister, D.

• Do you have an answering machine at home? Whose voice is on the message?
We don’t have an answering machine; no land line.

• What did you do last night after work?
Hubby went for a run while I picked up dinner. We ate, then we went to Babies R Us to add items to our baby registry. After we got home, we watched a bit of TV before going to bed.

• What is the name of your spouse’s manager at work?
Jill.

• Who is your best friend? What about your spouse?
My Bests, and my hubby, of course 🙂 Hubby would probably say me along with his best friend from high school and best friend from college.

• What day is trash picked up at your house?
Tuesdays and Fridays. I think. I’ve never actually taken out the trash at our house.

This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does Your Marriage Pass the Test?

  1. I have no idea how I feel about these questions. I mean, it’s such a strange, weird task, to figure out if a couple is actually in love. Though I suppose the gov’t also thinks they’re lying about even living together? That confuses me, as if I was trying to trick the gov’t, I’d at least share a house!

    And my favorite question is the tray inside the microwave. Possibly b/c as I think about it, I have no idea about my own microwave. I mean, the dish inside is round, but I’ve strangely never noticed if it turns.

    Clearly, I’m fakely living with myself.

    • meghanmuses says:

      Seriously, Megan, I wonder how they come up with these questions! When reading the original article, one of the comments made was that the people conducting the interviews as about a couple’s sex life…and some couples “over-compensate” by bringing in pictures of them “consumating the marriage”. Seriously. Number 1 – just because you’re having sex doesn’t mean you’re married. Number 2 – since when is sex the most important part of a real marriage? I think a better question is “who cleans the toilet and how often?”

      And the microwave question was hard for me too – I don’t ever watch the food while it’s in the microwave. I just put it in, turn on the timer, walk away and wait for the glorious beep that tells me my food is done. I really had to think about it. I realized the only reason I know our microwave plate turns is because I was trying to get microwaved gunk off of it before and the plate kept moving around.

      Clearly, your marriage with yourself is a sham 🙂

  2. Just Me says:

    Just came over from BloggyMoms…really enjoy your blog. I don’t think my husband would pass the test. For one, he NEVER takes the trash out… Do you suppose the whole “Texas is a whole other country” means the questionnaire doesn’t apply or should I be waiting for them to deport him? LOL. Thanks for the great post.

    http://www.homemakershelper.wordpress.com

  3. Kimberly says:

    wow! That’s really interesting. I think I’m going to quiz my husband tonight…lol…I’m sure we’ll get our marriage license revoked! Saw you on Bloggy Moms! Following you now!!! ~Kimberly

    http://www.stinkerpinker.com

Leave a Reply

