I live in a bubble

I haven’t posted to my blog in a while. Because I live in a bubble. An amazing, house-sized bubble encasing me, my hubby, my baby girl and occasional visitors. I don’t like leaving the house (because honestly? leaving a house with an infant by yourself is freaking hard.) unless I absolutely have to, or I have hubby’s assistance. I’m still out on maternity leave, so I haven’t had to go to work yet. So other than major necessities (i.e. grocery shopping or doctor’s visits) prompting me to leave, I stay in my bubble.

And I like it that way.

But things change.

I will be going back to work next month. I will have to leave my bubble. This is a painful realization for me, so I’m taking baby steps. First step? Updating my blog. I’m technically still inside my bubble, but I’m shifting focus (temporarily, of course) away from my baby, my BlackBerry and my TV to something else. Something that requires thought. So I’m here. Updating. And cleaning out my email inbox.

It’s a slow process. But I’m getting there.

Oh, did I mention I gave birth to my baby girl? (I’ll have a post about that soon!) She’s 12 weeks old today. Hence my bubble. I’m completely wrapped up in being a Mommy and spending all my time with this little miracle. But I know I can be a fabulous Mommy and do other things to (like maintain my blog)…I just needed to be reminded of it (I was motivated to update after reading Katie’s recent posts at Confessions of a Young Married Couple).

So. Blog updated. Bubble burst.

This entry was posted in Marriage, Mommyhood, Mundane Minutia. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I live in a bubble

  1. amy says:

    Congrats on birthing a BABY!!! Just found your blog through bloggy moms…I am get you on trying to transition back. I’ve had 3 kiddos and it is SUCH an adjustment back to feeling “normal” again. My youngest will be a year soon and I STILL don’t feel completely normal!

    Anyway…nice to meet you :)

    Cheers!
    Amy

  2. Teresa says:

    Congratulations on your baby! I came across your blog and just wanted to say hello and congratulations. Baby girls are fun!

  3. One of my best friends AND my neighbor just had babies, and I watch them both trying to juggle their lives and I’m in awe of how they do it. My friend’s wife just recently went back to work, though she’s told me that she would love to stay home and remain in that bubble; I can visibly see the fatigue in my neighbors’ eyes when she runs errands with her little boy.

    While I can’t imagine having a child to look after, I can understand the bubble sentiment all-too-well. You know how they say that you have to be on top of things with children all the time because they can so easily get into things? Maybe it’s the same with all of life — don’t settle too much into a routine, take baby steps out of the comfort zone you’ve created, surprise yourself.

    You ARE a fabulous mommy anyway — don’t hide it in a bubble.

    xoxo !

    • meghanmuses says:

      Thank you so much, Susan! You have no idea how much I needed that today :)

      So much has been going on and I’ve just let my blog sort of slip through the cracks, but I’ll be posting updates soon!

      Thank you again!! xoxo

      PS – congrats to your friend and your neighbor! New babies are exciting (even if they are tiring)!

Leave a Reply

